Our church heritage spans more than a century. We have a rich heritage that stands out in the city of Covington. The public records of Tipton County show this ministry was established in 1910. The Church of God in Christ, Covington, had its inception in 1910, during a “Brush Harbor” Revival Service with an Elder Turner as leader, and just a few followers. In 1919, Elder Turner and these followers purchased a small 8’ by 12’ house near the 409 Haynie Street site. The constituency consisted of a small group of females. A few years later, a piece of land was purchased, and the small, framed building was moved. That building was torn down, and a larger building was erected and moved, with mules and logs, to the 409 Haynie Street site.
ELDER HC FOSTER
Elder H C Foster was appointed pastor in 1926. Elder Foster organized the church on July 17, 1926, with the following people serving as deacons: Will Hill, Alvin Maben, Elder Nacy Parker, B. Chatman, and B. Hall. Mother Loura Burnett was serving as secretary. Elder Foster envisioned the need for expansion, and, in 1935 the building was enlarged and later bricked. The membership grew to 122. Elder Foster remained pastor until October 1956, when he resigned.